Author Topic: Playing with 486 100 MHz  (Read 777 times)

  • Offline bear

  • Rutabaga
  • Posts: 6,285
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
Re: Playing with 486 100 MHz
Reply #15 on: October 18, 2021, 14:28:32 PM
Easily done  :D

Re: Playing with 486 100 MHz
Reply #16 on: October 18, 2021, 19:31:18 PM
I've got to finally admit it... I never had a 486  :-o

had an amiga 1200 then jumped to a p90

  • Offline bear

  • Rutabaga
  • Posts: 6,285
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
Re: Playing with 486 100 MHz
Reply #17 on: October 18, 2021, 19:49:05 PM
This 486 is as fast as a p90  :) even faster as I run Compact Flash memory as hard drive.

    • Tekforums.net - It's new and improved!
  • Offline Clock'd 0Ne

  • Clockedtastic
  • Posts: 10,812
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
Re: Playing with 486 100 MHz
Reply #18 on: October 19, 2021, 05:01:24 AM
The first PC I ever bought was a P100 with 8MB RAM, but I I think my earliest machine I had was a 20Mhz 286 with 1MB RAM, which I believe had something like a 50Mb HDD. I was somehow able to get Windows 3.1 and Doom installed, it ran hideously though. I think at some point I had a 286, 386 and 486 machine kicking about as a network gaming machine, all networked with 10Base2 BNC!

  • Offline bear

  • Rutabaga
  • Posts: 6,285
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
Re: Playing with 486 100 MHz
Reply #19 on: October 19, 2021, 11:17:44 AM
My first was an Ericsson PC and 8086 (still have it bu HDD broken) used and Ericsson 286 for quite some time manged to have 4 mb memory ! Networked with paralell cable and NC links :)


  • Offline bear

  • Rutabaga
  • Posts: 6,285
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
Re: Playing with 486 100 MHz
Reply #20 on: October 19, 2021, 19:17:07 PM
Posting with Dillo on DSL works faster under nix on the same machine :)
I now  can dualboot with GRUB and choose DSL or FreeDos :)
B.T.W didn't Doom come with networking ready made so it was an easy setup ?
Last Edit: October 19, 2021, 19:22:18 PM by bear #187;

Re: Playing with 486 100 MHz
Reply #21 on: October 20, 2021, 12:24:38 PM
my amiga 1200 had a 470mb HD and an extra 8mb of ram!!!   but... you couldn't have both of those, so had to flip a jumper to restrict the extra ram down to 4mb to get the HD working

  • Offline Serious

  • Posts: 14,448
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
Re: Playing with 486 100 MHz
Reply #22 on: October 20, 2021, 15:48:42 PM
A very long time ago I had am AMD 133mhz 386SX/ With the Windows OS at the time and programs it didn't function badly. Unfortunately a lot of the business software written for MSdos was terrible and the manuals hopeless. I rewrote several of them for a company to actually make sense and get rid of the jargon.

Then I also had an Amiga, with HD. The custom video and sound chips made the games better and the system was far better overall, even if slower. Unfortunately Commodore killed it and successfully suicided.

Before that I had a Dragon 32MB and Sinclair spectrum and ZX81. The Spectrum was technically superior but the Dragon had a damn good keyboard.

The ZX81 pushes it back to a blistering 3.5Mhz and 1K ram onboard, which was a shame, they should have put the 16MB ram that came with the expansion pack inside regardless of cost. The ram pack wobble made it an issue and was pretty soon overtaken by others that had better keyboards. Spectrum keyboard was technically better but still dreadful.

  • Offline bear

  • Rutabaga
  • Posts: 6,285
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
Re: Playing with 486 100 MHz
Reply #23 on: October 20, 2021, 17:49:08 PM
Have hard time beliving you had 133MHz 386, must have been a 486, I had a 40 MHz 386 with coprocessor 16 m ram and 256k cache, that was a fast for being a 386 :) I could run w98 on it !
This 486 100Mhz (50Mhz bus) is good and AMD 133MHz  486 would be sligtly faster,  AMD 120 MHz (33Mhz bus)) would be about the same as the 100 DX4.
What more to do ? It has 2 compact floash hard drives,64 mb RAM, 3½" floppy, 5 and a quarter inch 1,2 Mb floppy(it can read and write to a 360k floppy but not format them,
well it can but they will not work on a 360k drive only a 1.2 drive) , a CD writer/reader, Sound Blaster (with 2mb RAM on it ! ) and an ethernet card. Three OSs, FreeDos 1.3 RC4, Windows 95 with LiteStep shell and DSL(Damn Small Linux) using GRUB I multiboot betwix them all :)
On my wish list for it is a PCI riser  card as it has jumper to change ISA/PCI also there was 32 mb RAMs, but where,this IBM Machine type 6482 XVI can hold 128 mb RAM.
Riser Card PCI (6484) FRU 82G3555, 72-Pin Memory Module,32MB (70ns) FRU 73G3135.
Last Edit: October 20, 2021, 18:25:44 PM by bear #187;

    • Tekforums.net - It's new and improved!
  • Offline Clock'd 0Ne

  • Clockedtastic
  • Posts: 10,812
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
Re: Playing with 486 100 MHz
Reply #24 on: October 21, 2021, 08:25:58 AM
Yeah the 386SX would have been 33Mhz at best, not 133Mhz; I don't think it even had a floating-point unit (that would have been the 386DX). Anything over 100Mhz didn't really arrive until the 486/Pentiums (which I didn't realise but is obvious now, Pentium is a moniker for 586) that went from 50-200Mhz then MMX followed. I remember as at the time the P100 I bought was considered high end and was my first gaming PC, I bought Worms, and Duke Nukem 3D to go with it. I'm getting that warm, nostalgic feeling just thinking about it 8)
Last Edit: October 21, 2021, 08:29:10 AM by Clock'd 0Ne #187;

Re: Playing with 486 100 MHz
Reply #25 on: October 21, 2021, 18:05:21 PM
omfg WORMS!

must have spent half my life playing that when I was a kid

Bear do you do anything with the system or is it just for a bit of fun?


I remembering win 95/98/98SE... used to format and reinstall every other week back in those days

  • Offline bear

  • Rutabaga
  • Posts: 6,285
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
Re: Playing with 486 100 MHz
Reply #26 on: October 21, 2021, 22:22:05 PM
Yes I use them, playing pinball on windows, and racing games in DOS,scrabble, vpool etc. :)  Also formatting disks that i sell :) Freedos is "modern" dos I can read/write files in the windows files from it, it has a kernel.sys and is linux friendly.
Last Edit: October 22, 2021, 00:35:45 AM by bear #187;

Re: Playing with 486 100 MHz
Reply #27 on: October 22, 2021, 08:56:22 AM
My first PC was an Olivetti PCS 286.  Had 1Mb ram and 20Mb Hard Drive.
Back then I didn't have enough HDD space to have both Windows and Games, so I had to choose.
I bought that when the P90's had just come out so it was already quite old.

Re: Playing with 486 100 MHz
Reply #28 on: October 22, 2021, 21:11:22 PM
Also formatting disks that i sell :)

do you get many disks or do you just mean ones you have lying around?

I've bought a crap load of used SAS drives on ebay for storage server at work (cctv)  surprised how cheap they are, I've had 2 die out of 78 drives in use.... dead ones were the first ones I bought, 2tb and a bit old... didn't want to spend much at first incase my plan didn't work out, sas+disk shelves was a bit or a learning curve

  • Offline bear

  • Rutabaga
  • Posts: 6,285
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
Re: Playing with 486 100 MHz
Reply #29 on: October 23, 2021, 00:06:16 AM
Have a bunch of 5¼ inch 360 k floppies new and used :) Very few 1.2 mb floppies though.

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.